Skip to content

The Food Dilemna

January 7, 2010

My boyfriend is vegan, so I’m vegan by default most of the time. I don’t mind this, and in fact, I love trying to figure out how to make vegan versions of recipes that usually call for meat or animal byproducts. It’s a challenge that I like and I’m starting to see why cooking is considered an art. Since I cook with all fruits and vegetables, I’m now noticing the difference in quality between large-chain supermarket produce and the kind that you can find at your local farmer’s market and even Whole Foods.

While I was living in an apartment with rent that I could comfortably handle, it was no problem going to Whole Foods to buy everything. But I finally bought my own home this past November and now have a mighty hefty mortgage payment to deal with. And decent produce is not cheap. So in the name of budgeting, I started shopping at Ralphs and Valley Produce. I found that I could buy 2 to 3 times as much of tomatoes, potatoes, peppers, etc… for the same amount of cash. So I cooked. And I tasted. And I was not pleased. The flavors of the fruits and vegetables just weren’t there! I always shopped organic because I was mainly worried about chemical pesticides and GMO, but I never really thought that the taste would be so different. This was 2 weeks ago, and I’m back to buying good quality organic. But my funds are going faster than I’d like.

What’s the solution? Grow it yourself, of course. I have a back yard now. In fact, I ALSO have a front yard. Both can be put to good use to grow my own beautiful, bountiful, and TASTY garden. This is my really big new years resolution.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

